Indian postal codes

The postal code (or PIN) is a code in the numbering system of post offices in India. This numbering system was introduced by Sriram Bhikadji Velankar, additional secretary in the Ministry of Communications. It happened in August 1972. The system is needed to simplify the process of manually sorting mail and its subsequent delivery. It allows you to get rid of the confusion that arises due to incorrect addresses, similar geographical names and differences in the languages ​​used by the population of the country.

Coding Method

India postal codes are a 6-digit code. Each of them performs a specific function:

  • the first two digits mean a country or a province;
  • the third digit means sorting and forwarding compartments;
  • the last three digits mean the main cities and groups of post offices in India or delivery offices.

An Indian state may have one or more sorting units depending on the volume of mail processed.

Postal Zones

In India, there are 9 nine postal zones, each of which is indicated by the first digit of the index. The eight zones are regional and denote different states and allied territories of the country:

  • 1 - Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh;
  • 2 - Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand;
  • 3 - Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar-Haveli;
  • 4 - Maharashtra, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh;
  • 5 - Telingana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka;
  • 6 - Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducci, Lakshadweep;
  • 7 - West Bengal, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim;
  • 8 - Bihar, Jharkhand.

The ninth zone is functional. It is intended for the Indian army, and the code means army and field post offices.

Delivery System

Each of the PIN codes is associated with only one delivery post office, which receives mail for onward transmission to one or more subordinate offices that fall under its jurisdiction and have the same code. Delivery office can be the main post office, head office or auxiliary. In rural areas are located branches that provide postal services in a limited volume. All post offices and PIN codes of India you can see on the site. All zones are listed in alphabetical order, making it easy to find the option you want.